Alright, I got curious.  After watching this horrendous movie, I read in several places that there is a book of the same name which, apparently, helps the movie make more sense (… 😡 There are so many things wrong with that statement).  So, when I went book shopping next, I picked the book up off the shelf and, I am dead serious, this is the very first line: “The drought had lasted now for ten million years, and the reign of the terrible lizards had long since ended.”

I’m sorry, what?  Am I supposed to take this seriously?  Why are we starting with a statement that tells us “oh, by the way, the dinosaurs are extinct”?  This is an awful place to start a story (no, I didn’t read past that line)!  And, actually, it took me the second read of that sentence to realize that’s what it meant.  If I had no idea what this was about (and I use that word extremely loosely), I would’ve seen it as the first line of a sci-fi parody referring to a ludicrously inventive alien race.  Pretty sure that’s not what’s happening there.

Then I found out later that the book and movie were written concurrently and meant to be paired together in order for the movie to make any kind of sense.  …That is the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard!  You don’t do that, you just don’t!  Why?  Just why?  I want to enjoy my movies in their own right, I don’t want reading the book to be a prerequisite!

Phew!  I’m done.  Just had to get that out there.  I love books and I don’t always hate movies based on them, but the whole approach of creating 2001: A Space Odyssey was just plain ridiculous.  I don’t care how ground-breaking your effects are, a poorly portrayed story is a bad one.

4 thoughts on “2001: A Space Odyssey…Why? Part 2

  1. Love your writing, and would very much enjoy seeing a review of a book you *do* like.
    Just a thought – to get reviews of books I’d like to read, rather than just books I shouldn’t avoid.
    xo,
    Susan
    PS I haven’t been following you long, so maybe I’ve missed reviews of those books you have enjoyed. If so, feel free to send me a link to them, if you find time. Thanks again.

    Like

    1. Let’s see…I liked Shadows of Self, The Bands of Mourning, Catch-22, Death Weavers and I also really enjoyed the book I reviewed last: Magic’s Pawn. I review books every Saturday now and I can’t figure out how to put links in this reply 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

