We have returned to the Outskirts in the mystical series called Five Kingdoms by Brandon Mull.  I’ve already provided some background in my review of the previous novel, Crystal Keepersso I’m not going to do too much expositional stuff.  Death Weavers is the penultimate book of the series, therefore the most climactic with the promise of a resolution around the corner.

This novel was far better than the preceding one which, being the midpoint of the whole story, had a very noticeable lull.  The storyline of Death Weavers was incredibly action packed and, as the title hints, a touch on the dark side.  In this book, we are introduced to the fourth kingdom Cole Randolph has encountered, Necronum, where the magic is akin to, you guessed it, necromancy.  What really made this book interesting is that most of what takes place occurs in the afterlife (or the first phase of it) rather than in the kingdom itself.  I’m going to leave it at that since anymore discussion on it would lead to spoilers, but I really enjoyed how Mull flushed the setting out in this particular book.

I do, however, still have a bit of a hang up with Cole.  I know he’s just a kid, he makes mistakes, but he still seems so plain.  As the story progresses, particularly in Death Weavers, we can see Cole growing as a hero somewhat; I’m…just not entirely convinced.  Have to say, I think this is one of the weakest main characters Mull has created.  Not in strength or ability (he has plenty of that), more so in how his character is portrayed.  There’s just something about Cole that makes him seem less…solid.

Like I said in my previous review, I find Mull’s style, while still good, severely toned down compared to his earlier works.  The dialogue was still a little clunky and I found myself annoyed several times by Cole’s curiosity.  Instead of asking important questions, he would waste time making small talk!  It wasn’t nearly prominent here as it was in Crystal Keepers, thank goodness, yet it was present enough to bother me when I saw it.  Overall, Death Weavers started out strong, stayed strong, and ended strong, much like the first two books in Five Kingdoms.  I’m so excited to read the final installment.

For a closer look at what made me like this book, check out my YouTube video here!  Warning: video contains spoilers.

Leave a Reply

