So, I kinda sorta finished the second draft of my first book in a series, but I wasn’t really satisfied with it…mostly because I wrote (copy & pasted from first draft) some pretty terrible chapters with no clue how to fix them.  At this point, I’m thinking I should just go ahead and take a break by working on a separate stand-alone project, but then I realize…I have no idea where my series is going.  (That’s a lie, I have a vague idea of where it’s going.)

You see, I am what’s called a pantser, or discovery writer, and writing one book at a time in a series for one such as myself…not a good idea.  Not to mention that, after watching writing lectures by Brandon Sanderson (which you can find on YouTube by the way), I’ve learned that the best thing for a new author to do is begin with a stand-alone novel, not a series.  Therefore, even though I have been obsessed with this project since October, I need to move on; I need to figure out the whole story before revising any of the books.

While doing that, I’m also going to work on the second draft of a story I completed last year as well as start a new story which I will use to introduce myself to the world of publishing.  The reason I’m doing things this way is because I want to be more known for high fantasy (initially) and the other stand-alone is…actually I’m not sure whether to call it low fantasy or low sci-fi.

I certainly don’t regret spending the time I did on the project I’m basically putting on hold, though.  By doing it, I learned a lot about the world I created and even some of the characters, so it was very beneficial.  The hardest part of this moving on process, however, is letting go.  I’ve spent far too much time on this book and I find it difficult to part ways with it namely because I’m not entirely satisfied with how I’ve left things.

Despite that, I feel very optimistic about completing all of my projects.  In the past couple of years that I really became serious about my writing, I have made leaps and bounds in terms of progress.  Last year alone, I completed two first drafts and began three second drafts (one of those was for a story I wrote in middle school), not to mention the endless ideas that keep popping up.  That last one’s a little annoying, but it’s also like complaining that my mansion doesn’t have an ocean view, so I won’t bother you with that one too much.  No matter what my next steps are, I think I’ll be a published author sooner rather than later (*fingers crossed*).

Leave a Reply

