So, I’ve been…let’s face it, whining about the whole job scene for a while now and in a post about a month ago said I would focus on freelancing.  …Yeah, I don’t think so.  The more I looked into it, the more I realized that I really don’t want to do it.  Most lucrative freelance writing is in business writing or magazine/newspaper articles.  Not only do I have no clue what I’d want to write about, I don’t really want to put in the effort to pitch my stories.  Also, it seems like a lot of freelancers are creating revenue from pushing products and not necessarily writing (nothing to back that up aside from my own impressions).

Although I’m still frustrated with the job market, and was probably suffering from discouraged worker syndrome, it’s really the only path for me.  Even when I daydreamed about the future, my ideal schedule involved me “freelancing” about two days a week.  …’Cause that’ll work.  To top it off, I’m not willing to invest time or money into learning what to do to actually be successful.

I live in a world of fiction, reading and writing in worlds filled with magical adventures.  Unfortunately, that’s not something I can live off of…yet 😉  While I will certainly not let go of my dreams of writing, I think it’s time to kill off the idea of freelancing.  Nothing wrong with it, but not my cup of tea.  In the mean time, I’ll focus on things I actually want to do, including a little something I hope you’ll really enjoy.

Leave a Reply

