I’m done. I’m just done. I’m completely fed up with this whole job hunting game and, you know what, it’s been nothing but a distraction! When I’m not working at one of my two jobs, instead of doing what I actually want to do (writing) I’m scanning the internet for jobs I might – might! – be qualified for.

Sigh. Perhaps I should elaborate on my frustration. A couple of weeks ago I was invited for an interview (the only one I’ve gotten so far) for a full-time job. It felt alright and they seemed to like me, but they found a more qualified candidate. (So sorry I don’t have a million years experience of being a receptionist). 

After that, something just…clicked. Job hunting is a game and, not only will I lose, I don’t care about winning. I mean, would I seriously be happy at a 9 to 5 job in an office? I feel more fulfilled at the job that pays less just because it’s outside!

No, I’m done with this game and I need to get serious about freelancing. At the beginning of the year, I said that I was going to crank things up to 11 and I have. I set goals for myself and even met them ahead of schedule (although I’m currently taking a bit of break). However, the freelancing aspect of my writing career has fallen by the wayside because I’ve been wasting my time applying to places that don’t even care if I exist. 

So, for me, job hunting season is officially over. After all, sometimes the best way to win a game is to break all the rules.

Leave a Reply

