There are some days I find myself inspired to the point that several hours pass by without me noticing. I might even forget to eat (I try not to let that happen, but such is the curse of an artist). Then there are those days that I am completely stuck. I have no idea what to write next and imagination seems to be an elusive concept. On those days, I try to force myself to write.

Sometimes this works, others it doesn’t. I sit down at my desk and simply stare at my computer screen or blank piece of paper. On occasion, I’ll just grit my teeth and force a line out, then another. Next thing I know, a paragraph starts flowing out until I’ve suddenly recaptured inspiration. These are the good days. 

Then there are times like last night. I had it in my head that I would write something, anything, down for the chapter. But I just didn’t have it in me. Instead, the cursor on the computer screen and I had a staring contest. It won and it’s still laughing about it. Thinking it’s all tough, but I’ll show that cursor. I shall write tonight!

Anyway, back to reality, forcing myself to write is really tough when I’m just not feeling it. It’s easier to force something out when I want to write something, but I’m simply uninspired. 

Anybody else deal with this problem? How do you handle it? Share your story in the comments!

One thought on “Forcing myself to write

Leave a Reply

