In one of my first posts, okay the first post, I stated that I was a lazy person. But now, ever since I left school, I’ve been wondering if my self-assessment was accurate. Was I really just lazy or was I just so lackluster about schooling that I’d rather be watching youtube?

I’m thinking that the latter was the case. I’ve been focusing strongly on my writing and I’ve been “working” 24/7 (I put working in quotes since I’m not exactly getting top dollar for it). As soon as I get home from my real job, which honestly doesn’t pay much, I go straight to writing, blogging, Upworking; along with looking for other jobs on Indeed, but that’s another story. And, if I’m not actively writing or doing something related to it, I’m thinking about it.

It truly says a lot that I have had no inclination to binge watch anything. Do I still watch youtube videos? Yes, but only when there’s something new. Half-watched series on Netflix? TV shows I watched every week? Forget it. They’re not something that’s important in my life.

Yes, I still suffer from occasional writer’s block and procrastination, but if it’s something I truly care about or am getting paid to do, you can bet your ass that I’ll put my best foot forward no matter what. Although, my room is still kind of a blackhole. Honestly, the only reason I get out of the house anymore is because of work. So, for me, it seems that laziness stems from apathy more than anything else.

Well, you know what they say: “If you do something you love, you’ll never work a day in your life.” Cheers to working without actually working!

Hmmm…I think I just contradicted myself about not being lazy with that last line.  Maybe lazy’s the new passionate!

One thought on “Laziness or Apathy?

Leave a Reply

